How to Easily Understand the Hindu Calendar as a Part of Sanatan Dharma?

Understand the Hindu Calendar and New Year: Do you really have the correct information about the Hindu calendar and the new year in Sanatan Dharma? Every year, everyone wishes each other a happy new year, but do you have the correct information about the Hindu calendar and the new year? According to the Hindu calendar, the new year falls in the month of Chaitra, and this year (2024), the Sanatani Hindu New Year will be celebrated on 26th March. This is an ancient and important traditional festival that we should understand.

Here, you will obtain information about the months and days of the Hindu calendar, as well as how the dates are calculated and how the year is counted according to the Hindu Panchang. You will acquire important information related to Indian culture and tradition, which will be meaningful for you.

How to Understand the Hindu Calendar Easily? Is This Really the New Year?

Today, everyone will wish you a happy new year. Through social media or any other means, and you will also respond with good wishes. But do you know that according to the ancient Hindu calendar, our new year falls in the month of Chaitra? This year (2024), the new year for Sanatanis will be on 26th March.

But on that day, you won’t see people exchanging good wishes. This is our collective lament because in one way or another, we are all influenced by Western civilization. This is a bitter truth, but it is the truth. Have you ever seen anyone celebrating their birthday according to the Hindu Panchang? The answer will be very few people. First of all, we all need to understand the Hindu Panchang. Currently, the prevalent calendar is the English calendar, also known as the Gregorian calendar, and our sages and ancestors followed the Vikram Samvat calendar, which is even older than the Gregorian. This calendar (Vikram Samvat) was initiated by King Vikramaditya.

How Many Months Are There According to the Vikram Samvat Calendar?

  • Chaitra (March-April)
  • Vaishakha (April-May)
  • Jyeshtha (May-June)
  • Ashadha (June-July)
  • Shravana (July-August)
  • Bhadrapada (August-September)
  • Ashwina (September-October)
  • Kartika (October-November)
  • Margashirsha (November-December)
  • Pausha (December-January)
  • Magha (January-February)
  • Phalguna (February-March)

Intercalary Month (Adhik Maas): This month doesn’t occur every year. In astrology, it occurs every three years. The Hindu calendar is based on the moon’s movement and consists of 12 months, while the solar calendar has 365 days plus approximately 6 hours. The Hindu calendar considers a year of 354 days, creating a difference of around 11 days between the two calendars. This 11-day difference adds up to an extra month approximately every three years. To account for this difference, an additional lunar month, also known as Purushottam month or Malmas in scriptures, appears at intervals of three years.

How Many Days Are There in a Month in the Hindu Calendar?

Every month is divided into two phases:

  • Shukla Paksha (15 days) – Starts from Amavasya and ends at Purnima (full moon).
  • Krishna Paksha (15 days) – Starts from Purnima and ends at Amavasya (new moon).

The counting of 30 days in a month is as follows:

  1. Krishna Paksha Pratipada
  2. Krishna Paksha Dwitiya
  3. Krishna Paksha Tritiya
  4. Krishna Paksha Chaturthi
  5. Krishna Paksha Panchami
  6. Krishna Paksha Shashti
  7. Krishna Paksha Saptami
  8. Krishna Paksha Ashtami
  9. Krishna Paksha Navami
  10. Krishna Paksha Dashami
  11. Krishna Paksha Ekadashi
  12. Krishna Paksha Dwadashi
  13. Krishna Paksha Trayodashi
  14. Krishna Paksha Chaturdashi
  15. Amavasya
  16. Shukla Paksha Pratipada
  17. Shukla Paksha Dwitiya
  18. Shukla Paksha Tritiya
  19. Shukla Paksha Chaturthi
  20. Shukla Paksha Panchami
  21. Shukla Paksha Shashti
  22. Shukla Paksha Saptami
  23. Shukla Paksha Ashtami
  24. Shukla Paksha Navami
  25. Shukla Paksha Dashami
  26. Shukla Paksha Ekadashi
  27. Shukla Paksha Dwadashi
  28. Shukla Paksha Trayodashi
  29. Shukla Paksha Chaturdashi
  30. Purnima

Which Hindu Calendar Year is Currently Running?

As per the Vikram Samvat calendar, it is 2080. Calculating it is very easy. Simply add 57 years in the Gregorian calendar, that’s the Hindu Vikram Samvat calendar year. For example, 2023 + 57 = 2080.

How to Understand the Date?

  • Krishna Paksha Dashami = 10th day of the month.
  • Amavasya = 15th day of the month.
  • Shukla Paksha Pratipada = 16th day of the month.
  • Purnima = 30th day of the month. Lord Shiva saved Chandra (the moon) from the curse of Daksha. That’s why the moon waxes and wanes in 15 days.

How is the Date Written?

Its format is as follows: Month/Phase/Day/Year

Example: Kartika, Shukla Paksha, Panchami 2080

How Many Hindu Calendars Are There?

Vikram Samvat and Shaka Samvat are the most prevalent calendars. But most people believe mainly in Vikram Samvat.